Zuri Internship: The Start

Zuri Internship: The Start

Hello, hashnoders. Today I am going to talk about how I found out about HNG Internship 8 operated by Zuri and my goals and expectations as to why I joined.

WHAT IS HNG INTERNSHIP?

HNG Internship is a long-running, large-scale virtual internship for people learning to code and design. It focuses on the post-training phase and creates a virtual work environment for participants.

I first learned about this program through a Twitter post and got interested, I looked into their website - Zuri and was impressed by this statement:

The Internship is designed to surface the very best of candidates out of a large pool of participants. It is fast-paced and challenging and helps people learn how to work in teams, deal with pressure and quickly expand their knowledge.

The highlighted parts of the sentence really got my attention as it was literally everything I needed at the moment. I joined the internship with the following goals in mind:

MY GOALS

- New/Improved Skills

One of my main goals for joining this internship is to gain newfound knowledge of my desired career path through completing tasks and also to sharpen my pre-existing skills. It is no understatement saying you learn something new every day, not much less when embarking on a program of this caliber with a lot of convening and different minds interconnecting. I aim to be a better version of myself every day and learn something new.

- An updated and impactful Resume

It will be a lie to not add this. It is one of my main goals as well, having clearly stated tasks that revolve around my career path can help build a more solid portfolio and enrichen my resume. Being able to add this internship experience to my resume specifying how I managed to carry out given tasks and the problems I solved is the goal.

- New connections and expanding network

From the mentors to my fellow interns, I hope to build strong connections that carry on till even after the internship is over. These connections can provide guidance, advice, help in job searches, or even just friendship and also mutual enhancement.

- Develop a sense of professionalism

I hope to be able to build a sense of what it would feel like to work in an office environment. To get a more practical idea of a professional work setting, like how tasks are shared, deadlines are set, and just other common office politics.

- Solidify my stance on my career path

Do I want to major in the front end or back end? At the end of this internship, I want to have come up with a final and absolutely convincing response.

- Complete every project

This would become tangible evidence of my accomplishment all through the internship.

- MOST IMPORTANTLY, MAKE IT TO THE END.

At the end of the internship which lasts for 8 weeks, I would like to have completed all my goals and started aiming for different ones. I would want to be stable and increase my value on whichever path I end up choosing and have strong, reliable connections follow me out.

MY FRONT END STACK

  1. HTML
  2. CSS
  3. JAVASCRIPT
  4. BOOTSTRAP
  5. JQUERY

MY BACK END STACK

  1. MONGO DB
  2. EXPRESS JS
  3. NODE JS

SEO - cars.ng

CONCLUSION

Thanks for stopping by and reading this article. My Zuri internship journey starts now, till next time!!